About Me

Hi, I’m Ren. Please use they/them pronouns for me.

I’m a human. I was born 31 years ago. I live in what is now called Canada, in the province of Ontario; but out of respect for the Indigenous peoples who cared for this land for thousands of years before my family settled here, I wish to acknowledge that where I live is the traditional territory of the Haudensaunee and Anishnaabeg.

I am neurodivergent; I’m autistic/ADHD. These, in and of themselves, aren’t problems, just aspects of myself that sometimes explain how I act. However, greater society isn’t very tolerant of those aspects, and I struggle with lifelong depression as a result.

I think that I am an artist at heart. I like writing, art, photography, etc., and I feel like I have been neglecting this essential part of myself, so I am currently on a work hiatus. My “full-time job” now is focusing on education and pursuing creative opportunities that I find personally satisfying rather than lucrative.

I am studying linguistics in school. I like words a lot. I like language a lot. I like communication a lot. I only know English fluently, but I am conversational in ASL (two years of study).

Previously, I learned machine shorthand stenography in college, I have a diploma in court reporting, and my writing speed is about 200 words per minute (at last test, early 2019). I’m currently on hiatus from transcription work, but I still love stenography.

Other things: I am nonbinary, asexual, an ISFP, and a Hufflepuff. I like linguistics, solarpunk, anarchism, dogs, bullet journals, typography, being furry trash, witchcraft, tarot, queer theory, and many other things that aren’t coming to mind right now. If you don’t know what any of those things are, that’s okay; it’s just for people to connect with me about.

This site exists mostly because I like to keep a compilation of things about me and information that I have gathered online.

Advertisements